Optional environment variables

Questions about qBittorrent or Gluetun (VPN).
Post Reply
rhodes
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2024 8:16 pm
Bhutan

Optional environment variables

Post by rhodes »

Hello,

and thanks very much for sharing/maintaining your project.

During my initial install the vpn-setup failed, so I had to do the Manual configuration.
Using the recommended vpn-provider, I hoped to end up in their country or at least on one of the servers they own.
This was not the case; ended up in a city they do not even list on their server page. I tried using the Optional environment variables mentioned in the gluetun-wiki

Code: Select all

- SERVER_CITIES=<CityFromTheirServerList> qmcgaw/gluetun

or

Code: Select all

- OWNED_ONLY=yes

No success in getting the container running after editing.

Since the device with openvpn does not log into the official provider-app or use a generated configuration file, it does not show on the My devices on the provider-website.
Is there any way to influence the server city or server ownership.

Sorry, for being annoying.

User avatar
rogs
Site Admin
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2023 12:53 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Gender:
Contact:
Uruguay

Re: Optional environment variables

Post by rogs »

Hey @rhodes!

You aren't being anoying at all :mrgreen:

YAMS is currently using an old version of Gluetun that might use a different documentation. Try removing the gluetun version pin in the docker-compose (everything after the : including the :).

We've had some instability issues with the newer versions though! But try that and see if it works for you.

Also, you might find more help in our Discord server! You can join here: https://discord.gg/Gwae3tNMST

Cheers!

YAMS Creator

E: roger (at) rogs.me. Fuck you, email bots.
W: https://rogs.me
gpg: curl -sL https://rogs.me/rogs.txt | gpg --import
fingerprint: ADDF BCB7 8B86 8D93 FC4E 3224 C7EC E9C6 C36E C2E6


Also, I love cats :mrgreen:

Pirate jet, pirate jet
rhodes
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2024 8:16 pm
Bhutan

Re: Optional environment variables

Post by rhodes »

Thanks.

Enabling the option

Code: Select all

- OWNED_ONLY=yes

works. the qbt-container runs. The other option does not work.

During the mentioned "instability issues", some kill-switch function keeps working?

User avatar
rogs
Site Admin
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2023 12:53 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Gender:
Contact:
Uruguay

Re: Optional environment variables

Post by rogs »

As far as I know, the kills witch has always worked, the issues we were having were mostly instability stuff and some VPNs downright not working

YAMS Creator

E: roger (at) rogs.me. Fuck you, email bots.
W: https://rogs.me
gpg: curl -sL https://rogs.me/rogs.txt | gpg --import
fingerprint: ADDF BCB7 8B86 8D93 FC4E 3224 C7EC E9C6 C36E C2E6


Also, I love cats :mrgreen:

Pirate jet, pirate jet
Post Reply