Running Prowlarr behind VPN

Questions about Prowlarr.
Post Reply
atomic_echo
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2025 8:18 pm
Gender:
Great Britain

Running Prowlarr behind VPN

Post by atomic_echo »

Hi,
My ISP blocks a number of indexers, so I have put prowlarr behind a vpn, as in your helpful post. The problem is that when I do this, it is no longer able to connect to radarr and sonarr, using http://radarr:7878 and http://sonarr:8989. Instead I have to put the full ip addresses for radarr and sonarr as shown in portainer - and this changes everytime I restart the containers. Is there a way around this?

User avatar
rogs
Site Admin
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2023 12:53 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Gender:
Contact:
Uruguay

Re: Running Prowlarr behind VPN

Post by rogs »

Hey @atomic_echo!

Not that I know of, other than moving Sonarr/Radarr to the VPN network as well, but that's kinda overkill. If you find another solution, please let us know! That's a question that has been moving around the Discord a lot hehe.

Cheers!

Roger.

YAMS Creator

E: roger (at) rogs.me. Fuck you, email bots.
W: https://rogs.me
gpg: curl -sL https://rogs.me/rogs.txt | gpg --import
fingerprint: ADDF BCB7 8B86 8D93 FC4E 3224 C7EC E9C6 C36E C2E6


Also, I love cats :mrgreen:

Pirate jet, pirate jet
atomic_echo
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2025 8:18 pm
Gender:
Great Britain

Re: Running Prowlarr behind VPN

Post by atomic_echo »

Ok - thanks for the quick response - I have been struggling to find a way for ages, and thought there might be something easy that i was missing. If I come up with anything I will post it.

Dpa1ms
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2025 5:56 am
Switzerland

Re: Running Prowlarr behind VPN

Post by Dpa1ms »

I was able to ensure everything was working again through restarts by setting a static docker IP through the compose file for radarr, sonarr, and gluetun and using the docker IP for gluetun as prowlarrs IP.

In order to set a static ip, the network must be in the compose file so add this to the bottom of the file. yams_default: should be the network that all the containers are connected to but double check the network section in Portainer to ensure it is the one they are using, otherwise replace yams_default: with the correct network name.

Code: Select all

networks:
  yams_default:
    external: true

Here is an example for setting the static IP for radarr by adding the networks: section. Ensure you are using the same network name as you did in the step above if you found it was different.

Code: Select all

  radarr:
    image: lscr.io/linuxserver/radarr
    container_name: radarr
    networks:
      yams_default:
        ipv4_address: 172.18.0.101
    environment:
      - PUID=${PUID}
      - PGID=${PGID}
    volumes:
      - /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro
      - ${MEDIA_DIRECTORY}:/data
      - ${INSTALL_DIRECTORY}/config/radarr:/config
    ports:
      - 7878:7878
    restart: unless-stopped

Add this section and apply any IP in the subnet to gluetun and sonarr as well and then use those IP's in the prowlarr apps settings. Prowlarr's IP should be the static IP of gluetun's container as it is now running through the VPN.

Image

Post Reply